broccoli cornbread – little bits o’ heaven

11 12 2009

Aunt Lois’ broccoli cornbread is in almost all of our family cookbooks that I’ve ever seen, but the below was pasted directly from an email to me from Tough Lady herself below, typos and all.    I was at the office, heading to the store on the way home, and had left the recipe at home but I knew she’d have it. What I didn’t realize was that she’d done this one so often that she was able to write the recipe from memory. I can’t imagine a holiday or a potluck without it (or bourbon slush for that matter, but that’s another day). Smell it baking, and I’m back on Buerkle Street.

My only mod/tip: melt the sticks of butter separately. One goes into the 9×13, the other goes into the batter. Oh, and her “cook til barely browning” translated into English means 350F for 45 mins.

Lovely stuff. Seriously. Plus it freezes well. I prefer it heated back up myself, rather than room temp. Must be all the butter.

Aunt Lois’s Broccoli Cornbread:

1 pkg frozen chopped broccolli

1 large onion

2 boxes of Jiffy

4 eggs (I think)

1 8 oz ctn cottage cheese

2 stickss butter

Melt butter in 9 x 13 pan.  Cook broccolli and onions til almost tender.  Drain well.  Mix Jiffy, cottage cheese and eggs together, add cooled broccolli/onion to mixture, then add most of the butter to mixture.  Pour into 9 x 13 with remaining butter in pan.  (I like the salted butter for this, we all fight over the edges where the butter has collected).  Cook at 350 til barely browning.  Don’t overcook.  Freezes well, if there’s any left.


Actions

Information

4 responses

11 12 2009
delightfuleccentric

The ONLY way I’ll cornbread! 🙂

24 02 2011
broccoli cornbread – little bits o’ heaven (via one tough lady lives on) | DelightfulEccentric

[…] This is the only way I eat cornbread. I made it a couple of weeks ago for my cooking club, and one of the women asked for the recipe, her boyfriend loved it so much. I had to search my friend’s blog to find it (Categories, love, Categories), so I’m posting it here so the I can find it better. Aunt Lois’ broccoli cornbread is in almost all of our family cookbooks that I’ve ever seen, but the below was pasted directly from an email to me from Tough Lady herself below, typos and all.    I was at the office, heading to the store on the way home, and had left the recipe at home but I knew she’d have it. What I didn’t realize was that she’d done this one so often that she was able to write the recipe from memory. I can’t imagine a holiday o … Read More […]

25 02 2011
geauxgirl

I could use somma dis about now, how ’bout you?

26 01 2013
Thanksgiving – Personal Kitchen Challenge #9 « Embrace Life. Be Inspired.

[…] salad, which was a hit, some pesto pasta salad, a pesto chicken pasta casserole, and (not my) Aunt Lois’s Broccoli Cornbread.  It required Jiffy corn muffin mix, which (surprise) I can’t get here, but I found this […]

Leave a comment