one key truth we true Southerners hope the Yanks never cotton onto

26 06 2010

IzzieDarling has a point about Customer Service.

First, everyone (and I do mean Everyone), oughta hafta do a stint in food service, and in retail. Kinda like the thou-shalt-do-military requirements other countries have. IMHO, the world would be a much nicer place.

Second, there’s a natural order to the universe: it’s tough to have credibility playing the Nice card if you already trotted out your Mean card. Play Nice first. Then, if and only if it’s required, trump with the Mean card.

Thirdly, besides…. we true Southerners know how to cover anything in sugar.

Example: A dear Bostonian friend of mine is super-sharp, quick-witted, and delightfully snarky. LOVE her. She was remarking about how Wonderful X person was. Meanwhile, X person had just slain her with some sugar covered razor blades, and Bostonian friend didn’t even realize she was hemorraging blood from the damage. I clued her in. Now she calls me semi-regularly to replay conversations to see if she’d been Sugar’d or not.

Now ain’t that just the sweetest little thing you ever did hear? Bless her little heart.

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 06 2010
jen

the covering everything in sugar thing? my least favorite southern quality, hands down. if you’re going to be a bitch to me, just be a bitch. don’t sugar coat it so i can’t understand how you really feel beneath all that syrup. for the life of me, I still can’t understand that trait and I’ve lived in the south most of my life. i’d much rather live in a place where you know where you stand with someone without having to read through the lines! 🙂

27 06 2010
geauxgirl

I agree! But there’s a difference between being so blunt it’s rude, and covering it in sugar. The happiness inbetween is having a little tact.

Apparently (at my office anyway) I’m one of the few Southerners that *gets* that when Yanks (broad stereotyping in full effect here) are “rude”, it’s not that they’re really rude, it’s that their painfully direct, without any southern charm (there’s that tact thing again) on top of it. Lots of folks get peeved at the New Englander’s. Me? I’m fine. Find it amusing. (Which is probably why I cover that district, cause no one else wants to work with the “rude” people!)

Then there’s the sugar bombs, who are the painted/coiffed evils of the world, all done up in pearls & highlights.

So yeah, I prefer we Southerners at least keep the edge of having the secret decoder ring to know when we’re being snarked! 🙂

In the meantime, should you ever need an emergency Southern Snark decoder ring, gimme a buzz. I do it for my Bostonian friend, I’m more than happy to help! 🙂

Leave a Reply

