memorial day is for Remembering, all kinds

31 05 2010

Today I finally broke out the soldering iron. One of the windows I inherited needs some repair and a little TLC.

I suppose I have been subconsciously dragging my feet about doing glass, as it occurred to me just yesterday that I wouldn’t NOT be able to think about mother the entire time. As much as she’s on my mind already, I wasn’t sure if that would be rubbing salt in a wound or what.

Turns out, I ended up as engrossed as she would get doing it. And yes, she’s soooo on my mind.

But it’s in a surprisingly calm way. It’s almost as if she and I are doing artsy-fartsy stuff together and trading stories like a couple of girlfriends catching up after a long absense. One story she reminded me of, was that this was her Very First Window (circa 1979?), and I swear I even heard her remind me of a solder trick to help smooth out the (her!) wonky slag line.

It’s been too long, momma. Missed you. And I remember.

I can’t wait for us to do it again.

Actions

Information

3 responses

1 06 2010
sara

That’s really sweet.

1 06 2010
amy

*hugs*

2 06 2010
geauxgirl

Thanks, you two….

Leave a Reply

